The University of Utah is the state's oldest and largest institution of higher education and is a Tier 1 research university. The various departments and colleges within the university are overseen and administered
by the following organizations.

President and Special Reports

The president is the organization’s chief executive officer.

Special reports to the president oversee specific areas of focus.

CEO, Huntsman Cancer Institute

Mary Beckerle

Faculty Athletics Representative

Karen Paisley
Special Assistant to the President and NCAA Faculty Representative

Chief of Staff

Laura Snow

Senior Vice Presidents

The senior vice presidents report to the president and oversee
the academic and health care missions of the organization.

Academic Campus Deans

College of Architecture + PlanningKeith Diaz Moore
David Eccles School of Business – Rachel Hayes (interim)
School for Cultural & Social TransformationKathryn Bond Stockton
College of EducationNancy Songer
College of EngineeringRichard B. Brown
College of Fine ArtsJohn W. Scheib
Online & Continuing EducationDeborah Keyek-Franssen
Honors CollegeSylvia Torti
College of HumanitiesStuart K. Culver
S.J. Quinney College of LawElizabeth Kronk Warner
Marriott LibraryAlberta Comer
College of Mines & Earth Sciences – Darryl Butt
College of SciencePeter Trapa
College of Social & Behavioral ScienceCynthia Berg
College of Social WorkMartell Teasley
Graduate SchoolDavid Kieda
Office of Undergraduate StudiesMartha Bradley

Medical Campus Deans

School of DentistryWyatt Rory Hume
College of HealthDavid Perrin (dual report to the SVPAA)
School of MedicineMichael Good
College of NursingMarla De Jong (dual report to the SVPAA)
College of PharmacyRandall Peterson (dual report to the SVPAA)
Eccles Health Sciences LibraryCatherine Soehner (dual report to the Dean of Libraries)

Vice Presidents

The vice presidents oversee all of the administrative and support functions of the university. 

Chief Financial Officer

Cathy Anderson
*Internal Audit reports administratively to the CFO and functionally to the President and Board of Trustees Audit Committee

Student Affairs

Lori McDonald

Equity, Diversity & Inclusion

Mary Ann Villarreal

University Governing Bodies

Board of Trustees

The university's Board of Trustees is comprised of 10 people, eight of whom are appointed by the governor with the consent of the Utah State Senate. The president of the University of Utah Alumni Association serves as a member, as does the president of the Associated Students of the University of Utah (ASUU). Appointed members to the board serve four-year terms. The board is responsible for overseeing the effective and efficient administration and operation of the university. The board is responsible for approving all university policies and the university's annual budget. 

Board of Regents

The Board of Regents is the governing body for the Utah System of Higher Education. The board's major responsibilities include selecting and evaluating institutional presidents, setting policy, reviewing programs and degrees, approving institutional missions, and submitting a unified higher education budget request to the governor and state legislature. The board is comprised of 17 Utah citizens, all appointed by the governor. 

Academic Senate

The academic senate is comprised of elected members of the university's faculty and is considered integral to the shared governance of the university. The senate acts for the faculty in all matters of educational policy, including requirements for admissions, degrees, diplomas, certificates, and curricular matters involving relations between colleges or departments. It also participates and provides input on decisions relating to the general academic operations of the university including budget decisions and administrative appointments. 


The cabinet meets weekly and is comprised of senior university leaders who provide advice and counsel to the president. Membership on the cabinet is at the discretion of the president. 

President's Leadership Council

The PLC is comprised of leaders from across campus who meet quarterly for the purpose of information sharing, creative problem solving and aligning the entire organization to a shared mission and vision.